NITE + Club Guy & Roni | The Underground | Feb 8 –– May 17NITE
Sluit
Sluit

What has to happen before you feel utterly like a clown? And what do you do when you want that feeling to stop?

** NB: The Underground is performed in Dutch, with English surtitles **

tour dates

“Weizman outdoes himself in merging Den Hartogh’s seething monologue with the multifaceted music of Asko|Schönberg and HIIIT (formerly Slagwerk Den Haag), the exuberant costumes of MAISON the FAUX and the ingenious scenery of Ascon de Nijs.” – De Theaterkrant, critic’s choice.

read the tour program

The Underground

Guy Weizman turned Dostoevsky’s Notes from Underground into an overwhelming theatrical performance. Inspired by the book, Rik van den Bos wrote a phenomenal, topical text, about someone who can’t accept how the world works, and who fails to play by the rules of the game. As a result, he retreats to the margins with all his spiritual richness. A role played masterfully, and with the necessary humor, by Sanne den Hartogh.

Weizman’s work is maximalist. He tells stories through music, dance, text and even the costumes of international fashion house MAISON the FAUX are an essential part of the characters’ personality. You can’t follow everything at once; no worries, you don’t have to. Get in, and enjoy the ride.

“Actor Sanne den Hartogh beautifully portrays protagonist Will, who loathes everything and everyone.” – de Volkskrant about The Underground

The Underground is a collaboration between NITE, Club Guy & Roni, HIIIT (voorheen) Slagwerk Den Haag, and Asko|Schönberg. This production is made possible by support from Fonds Podiumkunsten.

"An exuberant, colorful, theatrical feast."

Theaterkrant, critics' choice

"The Underground has everything you hope and expect from theater."

Ron Rijghard (NRC)

"Superb acting in The Underground where theater, dance, music and circus intertwine perfectly"

Dagblad van het Noorden

"Actor Sanne den Hartogh beautifully portrays protagonist Will, who loathes everything and everyone."

de Volkskrant

"Director Guy Weizman tackles Dostoevsky."

Joyce Roodnat (NRC)

credits

Guy Weizman

Regie

Roni Haver

Choreografie

Rik van den Bos

Tekst

Brendan Faegre

Componist

Ascon de Nijs

Decorontwerp

MAISON the FAUX

Regie

Maarten van Rossem

Lichtontwerp

Peter Zwart

Geluidsontwerp

Robbert van Heuven

Dramaturgie

David Dramm

Muzikale leiding

Ludy Golstein

Regieassistent

tourlist

Apr
Thu 18 Apr 20:15
Agenda

The Underground

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Fri 19 Apr 20:15
Agenda

The Underground

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Sat 20 Apr 20:15
Agenda

The Underground

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Tue 23 Apr 20:00
Agenda

The Underground

Zwolse Theaters - De Spiegel
Wed 24 Apr 20:15
Agenda

The Underground

Theater De Veste Delft
Thu 25 Apr 20:15
Agenda

The Underground

TAQA Theater De Vest Alkmaar
May
Mon 13 May 20:00
Agenda

The Underground

Internationaal Theater Amsterdam
Tue 14 May 20:00
Agenda

The Underground

Internationaal Theater Amsterdam
Wed 15 May 20:00
Agenda

The Underground

Internationaal Theater Amsterdam
Fri 17 May 20:00
Agenda

The Underground

Wilminktheater Enschede
Apr
Fri 12 Apr 20:15
Agenda

The Underground

Schouwburg Concertzaal Tilburg
Thu 11 Apr 20:00
Agenda

The Underground

Stadsschouwburg Utrecht
Wed 10 Apr 20:00
Agenda

The Underground

Stadsschouwburg Utrecht
Thu 4 Apr 20:15
Agenda

The Underground

Stadsschouwburg De Harmonie Leeuwarden
Wed 3 Apr 20:00
Agenda

The Underground

Schouwburg Amstelveen
Mar
Wed 27 Mar 20:00
Agenda

The Underground

De Nieuwe Kolk Assen
Sun 24 Mar 20:15
Agenda

The Underground

Stadsschouwburg Haarlem
Thu 21 Mar 20:00
Agenda

The Underground

Schouwburg De Lawei Drachten
Thu 14 Mar 20:15
Agenda

The Underground

Leidse Schouwburg
Wed 13 Mar 20:15
Agenda

The Underground

Koninklijke Schouwburg Den Haag
Tue 12 Mar 20:15
Agenda

The Underground

Koninklijke Schouwburg Den Haag
Fri 1 Mar 20:30
Agenda

The Underground

Parktheater Eindhoven
Feb
Thu 29 Feb 20:00
Agenda

The Underground

Schouwburg,Theater Rotterdam
Wed 28 Feb 20:00
Agenda

The Underground

Theater Rotterdam,Schouwburg
Wed 14 Feb 20:15
Agenda

The Underground

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Tue 13 Feb 20:15
Agenda

The Underground

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Sat 10 Feb 20:15
Agenda

The Underground

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Fri 9 Feb 20:15
Agenda

The Underground

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen
Thu 8 Feb 20:15
Agenda

The Underground

SPOT Stadsschouwburg Groningen

Feed

FALL FAILING is ON!

07 11 2023

Fall Failing COMING SOON

03 11 2023

OPEN CALL: photo/video creatives

17 10 2023

Poetic Disaters Club at De Parade

04 07 2022
More feeds

Stay in the know on all things NITE and when we’re around! Keep me updated

By giving my e-mail address, I give permission to be kept informed by e-mail about the performances and activities of NITE + Club Guy & Roni